Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Science and the Environment
Covering state lawmakers, bills, and policy emerging from Jefferson City.

Ozarks Farmers Among Eligible Recipients for Disaster Aid

Emily McTavish
A saturated field west of Springfield due to heavy rains in early July.

Low-interest loans and other federal assistance is available for farmers in 105 Missouri counties impacted this summer by severe storms.

The natural disaster area designation was issued Tuesday by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

“The scope of this declaration by USDA demonstrates how the severe weather most of Missouri experienced earlier this spring and summer hit farmers especially hard,” Gov. Nixon said in a news release.

Flooding was the main culprit for damage to Ozarks area properties. Other storms to hit Missouri from mid-May to late July included tornadoes and straight-line winds.

A disaster designation allows eligible farmers to be considered for assistance from the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA), including FSA emergency loans. Affected farmers can contact their local FSA office for more information.

The counties where farmers will be eligible for assistance are: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Carter, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, DeKalb, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Gasconade, Gentry, Greene, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howard, Howell, Iron, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, McDonald, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Nodaway, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Reynolds, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Warren, Washington, Webster, Worth and Wright.

Related Content