Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Missouri's Governor Requests Disaster Declaration For 19 Counties


Missouri Governor Mike Parson has requested that the president approve a major disaster declaration for the state.  Approval would allow federal assistance for 19 counties affected by severe storms, including tornadoes, May 3 and 4.  Those counties include Dallas, Douglas, Hickory, Howell, Laclede, Polk and Wright.

According to the governor’s office, joint preliminary damage assessments, conducted by the State Emergency Management Agency, Federal Emergency Management Agency and local officials, had estimated more than $9.3 million in damage to infrastructure and emergency response costs eligible for federal assistance.

If approved, local governments and qualifying nonprofit agencies may seek federal assistance for reimbursement of emergency response and recovery costs, including repair and replacement costs for damaged buildings, bridges, roads, and other public infrastructure.