Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Twenty Missouri Counties Now Eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance

National Weather Service

President Trump has granted a federal disaster declaration for Missouri.  It allows for Federal Emergency Management Agency Individual Assistance in 20 counties impacted by severe weather starting April 29.

Those counties are:  Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski and St. Charles.

U.S. Senator Roy Blunt said the announcement Tuesday “is an important step in making sure communities hit by historic flooding and damaging tornadoes have the support they need to rebuild.”  According to Blunt, FEMA’s Individual Assistance program will provide the counties with grants for temporary housing, home repairs and uninsured property loss.

Governor Mike Parson requested disaster declaration for 41 Missouri counties.  FEMA is reviewing eligibility for the 21 counties not covered by Tuesday’s declaration.  Those are:  Adair, Barton, Calloway, Christian, Clark, Cooper, Dallas, Douglas, Gasconade, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Howard, Jefferson, Laclede, Lewis, Macon, Polk, Saline, St. Louis and Ste. Genevieve.