Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

First Responders and Heroic Citizens Honored Tuesday at the State Capitol

Missouri Governor Mike Parson has recognized extraordinary acts of bravery and public service by Missouri public safety professionals.

At a ceremony Tuesday, Parson presented five Missouri Public Safety Medals for exemplary service to 17 Missouri first responders and three civilians who helped first responders during emergency situations in 2017.

The Governor’s Medal was given to several members of the West Plains Fire Department—Shawn Bice, Chris Bockelbank, Jeremiah Jones and M. Corbin Thompson--and members of the Missouri Highway Patrol Troop G—Christopher Kimes and Tyler Pond--for rescuing people impacted by flooding on April 28, 2017.  The Public Safety Civilian Partnership Award was given to West Plains resident, Cary Stewart, who helped the West Plains Fire Department rescue 92 people that day.

Michele Skalicky has worked at KSMU since the station occupied the old white house at National and Grand. She enjoys working on both the announcing side and in news and has been the recipient of statewide and national awards for news reporting. She likes to tell stories that make a difference. Michele enjoys outdoor activities, including hiking, camping and leisurely kayaking.