Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Disaster Unemployment Assistance for Spring Flooding Expanded in Missouri


Residents of an additional eight Missouri counties are eligible for federal disaster unemployment assistance.  FEMA approved Governor Eric Greitens’ request to expand the help to Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright Counties.

The approval means those whose employment was lost or interrupted due to flooding in late April and early May can apply for up to 26 weeks of Disaster Unemployment Assistance.  The deadline to apply is August 17.

According to the Missouri Department of Labor, “eligibility for DUA will be determined on a week-to-week basis and individuals can only receive benefits for as long as his or her unemployment continues as a result of the disaster.”

Criteria for individuals to be eligible for DUA benefits:

  • Must be an unemployed or self-unemployed worker whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the major disaster declared by the President; and
  • Must be a U.S. national or a qualified alien; and
  • Must not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state; and
  • Must have worked or were self-employed in, or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment in, one of the counties listed above; and
  • Must establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income.

Also eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who:

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of a disaster; or
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of the household; or
  • Cannot work or perform self-employment due to closure of a facility by the federal government.

The DOL said, applicants are required to provide proof that they were employed or self-employed at the time the disaster occurred or were scheduled to begin work when the disaster occurred. This proof of employment must be filed with the initial claim or within 21 days of filing their DUA claim. To claim, individuals will need their Social Security Number and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs may also be required (self-employed individuals should also provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F).
To file a DUA claim, call your Regional Claims Center Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., or go to Missourians impacted by the severe storms and flooding in all the declared counties can register for additional assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at (800) 621-3362, TTY (800) 462-7585, or register with FEMA online at

Regional Claims Centers:

Jefferson City..................................573-751-9040
Kansas City.....................................816-889-3101
St. Louis.........................................314-340-4950
Outside Local Calling Area................800-320-2519

To find additional resources across the state, visit the Missouri Recovery Portal.

Michele Skalicky has worked at KSMU since the station occupied the old white house at National and Grand. She enjoys working on both the announcing side and in news and has been the recipient of statewide and national awards for news reporting. She likes to tell stories that make a difference. Michele enjoys outdoor activities, including hiking, camping and leisurely kayaking.