Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

MSU Names Search Committee For New President


Missouri State University has named the 15 people who will make up its search committee for a new university president. KSMU's Jennifer Moore has details.

The committee includes three members of the Board of Governors, as well as representatives from the faculty, staff, administration, students and the community.The committee will look to find a replacement for current MSU president Michael Nietzel, who announced that he will step down in 2010 for a combination of personal and professional reasons.According to a release from the university, a search firm may also be used to find the new candidate. The committee’s first meeting is set for February 6th. The 15 members of the presidential search committee are:Jim Anderson, Springfield – AlumniMike Armentrout, Kansas City – AlumniDr. Jim Baker, Vice President for Research and Economic Development – Administrative CouncilDr. Eric Bosch, College of Natural and Applied Science – FacultyDr. Melissa Burnett, College of Business Administration – FacultyMike Duggan (Chair), Chesterfield – Board of GovernorsDavid Glass (Honorary Chair), Bentonville, Arkansas – AlumniGabriel Gore, St. Louis – AlumniBryan Hicks, Associate Director of Athletics for Academic/Student Achievement – StaffDr. Pauline Nugent, College of Arts and Letters – FacultyDr. Helen Reid, Dean of the College of Health and Human Services – Academic AdministratorMary Sheid, West Plains – Board of GovernorsJacob Swett, Pleasant Hill – StudentsPhyllis Washington, Kansas City – Board of GovernorsTravis Webb, Denver, Colorado – Alumni

For KSMU News, I'm Jennifer Moore.