Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
KMSU is off the air in Mt. Grove (88.7FM) due to signal interference. We are working to restore coverage at the site. In the meantime, some Mt. Grove area listeners will be able to listen over the air to KSMU at 91.1 or KSMW at 90.3FM. Or stream KSMU anywhere from any device.

Wanda Gray Elementary teacher named 2023-2024 SPS Teacher of the Year

Robin Davidson, SPS 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year
Springfield Public Schools
Robin Davidson, SPS 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year

Robin Davidson has taught in Springfield for more than two decades.

The Springfield Public Schools Teacher of the Year for 2023-2024 is Robin Davidson, a fourth-grade teacher at Wanda Gray Elementary.

Davidson started his career with SPS in 1999 at Reed Academy and spent 14 years at Westport Elementary.

Davidson started his career a bit later than many. He was 33 when he stepped into the classroom and said in a statement, “life experience had schooled me well; hard-knocks and blessings and everything in between had shaped me.” He promised himself that no student of his would ever be without a supportive, loving and encouraging community.

Four finalists were celebrated during the Foundation for Springfield Public Schools Celebrate SPS event Monday night: Josh Cantrell at Central High School, Rachel Hoing at Sequiota Elementary, Tiffany Lynch at Pipkin Middle School and Sam Shelton at Central.

Davidson moves on to compete in the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s regional competition. Winners at the regional level will advance to the Missouri State Teacher of the Year competition.

Michele Skalicky has worked at KSMU since the station occupied the old white house at National and Grand. She enjoys working on both the announcing side and in news and has been the recipient of statewide and national awards for news reporting. She likes to tell stories that make a difference. Michele enjoys outdoor activities, including hiking, camping and leisurely kayaking.