Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Covering state lawmakers, bills, and policy emerging from Jefferson City.

Damage Assessments For Federal Disaster Assistance To Begin Soon In Storm-Damaged Missouri Counties

Michele Skalicky

Missouri has requested that the Federal Emergency Management Agency participate in joint preliminary damage assessments in 56 counties in the state in response to tornadoes, severe storms and worsening flooding.  The teams will survey damage that began with severe storms on April 29 in preparation for a request from the governor for federal disaster assistance.

Assessments are expected to begin June 12 and will be conducted by FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, State Emergency Management Agency and local emergency management officials.

“Since March, nearly every corner of the state has been impacted by historic flooding, destructive tornadoes and severe storms,” said Missouri Governor Mike Parson. “We’ve closed more than 380 roads, halted barge loading on the Mississippi and Missouri rivers, shut down several railroad lines, and hundreds of families have been displaced from their homes--all because Mother Nature has refused to let up this spring. These critical issues place significant strain on our communities, farms, and businesses. We must take quick action to coordinate local, state, and federal resources to ensure Missourians have the tools to recover and rebuild as quickly as possible.”

Damage assessments for individual assistance were requested for these counties:  Andrew, Atchison, Barry, Barton, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Dallas, Greene, Grundy, Hickory, Holt, Jackson, Lawrence, Lewis, Pike, Polk, Saline, St. Charles, Stone, Taney and Webster Counties.

Damage assessments for public Assistance for public assistance were requested for these counties:  Adair, Barry, Barton, Caldwell, Camden, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Cole, Dade, Dallas, Dunklin, Gentry, Grundy, Hickory, Jasper, Knox, Laclede, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Miller, Monroe, New Madrid, Nodaway, Ozark, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls, St. Charles, St. Clair, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, Stoddard, Sullivan, Taney and Wright Counties.  

The Governor said assessments for Individual Assistance, which provides assistance to homeowners and renters who’ve experienced qualifying losses, will be prioritized over Public Assistance, which assists governments and eligible nonprofit organizations. 

Individuals with unmet needs and those who would like to help should contact United Way 211. Call 2-1-1 for assistance or contact 211 online at   

Michele Skalicky has worked at KSMU since the station occupied the old white house at National and Grand. She enjoys working on both the announcing side and in news and has been the recipient of statewide and national awards for news reporting. She likes to tell stories that make a difference. Michele enjoys outdoor activities, including hiking, camping and leisurely kayaking.