Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Leadership Award Given to Springfield's Fire Chief

City of Springfield

Leadership Springfield has chosen Springfield Fire Chief David Hall as recipient of a leadership award.  Hall was named the 2016 recipient of the O. Franklin Kenworthy Award for Outstanding Leadership at the annual meeting of Leadership Springfield last week.

Hall was recognized for his service on the Leadership Springfield board as well as his participation in numerous community groups.  He’s been with the Springfield Fire Department for 30 years and became chief in 2009.

Leadership Springfield president-elect, Mike Brothers, says Hall is “a committed community servant and advocate.”

The award was established in 1989 in memory of Franklin Kenworthy, a posthumous graduate of Signature Class 3.  Recipients must demonstrate a commitment of Leadership Springfield, community service, good citizenship, outstanding leadership and high moral and ethical standards.

Michele Skalicky has worked at KSMU since the station occupied the old white house at National and Grand. She enjoys working on both the announcing side and in news and has been the recipient of statewide and national awards for news reporting. She likes to tell stories that make a difference. Michele enjoys outdoor activities, including hiking, camping and leisurely kayaking.