Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
We’re in our Fall Fundraiser and you can help! Support KSMU programming today!

MSU Board of Governors Welcomes New Members

Scott Harvey
A seal for Southwest Missouri State College (name from 1945-1972), sits in front of MSU's Carrington Hall/Credit: Scott Harvey

Gov. Jay Nixon has appointed two new members to the Missouri State University Board of Governors.

Virginia L. Fry of Springfield and James Kendall Seal of Kansas City have each been appointed to terms ending in January 2019, according to the Governor’s office. They’re subject to confirmation by the Missouri Senate.

Fry is a partner at Husch Blackwell and is a member of the firm’s Healthcare, Life Sciences & Pharmaceuticals industry team.  Seal is a supervising attorney and director of medical-legal partnerships at Legal Aid of Western Missouri. 

They’ll replace current members Cathy Smith and Gordon Elliot, whose terms have expired. They’ve served on the board since 2006 and 2007, respectively.

The Missouri State University Board of Governors possesses full power and authority to adopt all needful rules and regulations for the guidance and supervision of the university.