Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Request Made To Expand Federal Disaster Declaration For Missouri

Michele Skalicky

The state of Missouri has requested that the Federal Emergency Management Agency expand last week’s federal disaster declaration for the state.

The State Emergency Management Agency Tuesday requested that FEMA consider extending President Trump’s July 9 Individual Assistance disaster declaration for Missouri to include residents and businesses in 21 additional counties.  Barton, Christian, Dallas, Douglas, Laclede and Polk are among those 21 counties. 

SEMA said that while those were denied assistance in the July 9 federal disaster declaration, additional information gathered as floodwaters receded increased the need for assistance. SEMA asked that FEMA re-evaluate the new damage information.

SEMA also requested that joint damage assessments for Individual Assistance be conducted for the first time related to this disaster in four counties: Cape Girardeau, Marion, Newton and McDonald.

Federal Individual Assistance would allow eligible residents to seek federal assistance for temporary housing, housing repairs, replacement of damaged belongings, vehicles, and other qualifying expenses as a result of the flooding and storms.

SEMA also requested that FEMA expand the July 9 disaster declaration to provide Public Assistance for repairs to damaged roads, bridges, and other public infrastructure along with emergency response costs in a total of 68 counties.

To register for FEMA assistance, go or register by phone by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). Telephone registration is available 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time), seven days a week.