Springfield City Council

Covering policy decisions, issues from Springfield City Council.

City of Springfield

One day after submitting his letter of resignation from Springfield City Council, Justin Burnett decided to stay.  KSMU Michele Skalicky has more.

The Zone 2 councilman rescinded his resignation Friday after reconsidering based on reactions from constituents.  City attorney, Dan Wichmer, said the resignation could be rescinded prior to the effective date, which in this case would have been 11:59 Friday night.

Justin Burnett

Less than a day after announcing he will step down from Springfield City Council, Justin Burnett has rescinded his resignation.

Brian Marks / Flickr

It’s now illegal to tether a dog in the City of Springfield for long periods of time.  City Council members unanimously passed an amendment last night to Springfield city code on the recommendation of the Animal Issues Task Force.

The task force says fixed-point tethering of dogs can lead to animal aggression and can threaten the health and safety of the animals.

City of Springfield

The five Springfield City Council members who sent a letter to Mayor Bob Stephens Friday asking for an independent hearing into whether or not councilwoman Kristi Fulnecky is eligible to serve have released a statement.

Mayor Pro Tem Ken McClure, councilwoman Phyllis Ferguson, councilman Craig Fishel, councilwoman Jan Fisk and councilman Mike Schilling say they took action “as soon as we became aware of the matter.  We were concerned by the fact that this problem has been ongoing for approximately seven years.”

A Primer on Springfield's Hotel-Motel Tax Allocations

Oct 14, 2015
Nataleigh Ross / KSMU

Springfield’s City Council last month approved $142,500 in total allocations to both the Springfield History Museum on the Square and Discovery Center. It is the third year that funds have been distributed using hotel- motel tax collections originally designated for another program.

Leslie Forrester is the executive director of the Springfield Regional Arts Council. She chairs the Hotel-Motel Tax Reallocation Committee.