Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
We’re in our Fall Fundraiser and you can help! Support KSMU programming today!
Science and the Environment

Voters Tuesday Decide Local Races/Issues

KSMU's Michele Skalicky has results from Tuesday's election in Greene County...

A former Springfield city council member is the city's new mayor. Voters Tuesday elected trucking company owner Jim O'Neal to lead the city through troubled economic times. O'Neal defeated political newcomer Chris Donegan who said he might run again for mayor in two years. Only 8.7 of registered city voters cast ballots Tuesday. O'Neal, a council member from 1987-1994, promised an "open, fair and accessible" leadership style."

In the race for Springfield City Council, the winners are Nicholas Ibarra in Zone 1, Bob Stephens for General Seat A, John Rush for General Seat B and Scott Bailes in Zone Four.

Incumbent Springfield School Board members Kris Callen, Andy Hosmer and Bruce Renner held onto their seats.

Voters in Christian County approved a 911 sales tax measure. The tax will replace all 911 tax surcharges on residential and business landlines.

Ozark has a new mayor. Bradley Jackson defeated Jane Carpenter, incumbent Don Watts and former mayor Donna McQuay.

Nixa voters Tuesday OK'd an 18.5-million-dollar bond issue for the Nixa School District. The money will be used to build a new school for 5th and 6th grade next to High Pointe Elementary.