After Long Effort To Save It, Grand Opening Is Planned For Timmons Temple
Timmons Hall was once about to be torn down to make way for new apartment buildings. The native Ozark stone structure that sat at the corner of Texas and Webster in Springfield was known at one time as Timmons Temple Church of God in Christ and was built in 1932. It served the city's African American community for more than 80 years. The nonprofit group, Friends of Timmons Temple, was formed in 2014 to to perserve the structure with its unique stone exterior, including sunburst patterns also found in retaining walls at nearby Silver Springs Park. Enough money was raised to move Timmons Temple to Silver Springs Park, and the building was relocated in 2015.
A grand opening for Timmons Hall will be held Saturday, June 29, at 10 a.m. at Silver Springs Park. Learn more at (417) 864-1046. The grand opening will be followed by the Juneteenth Celebration from noon to 4 at the park.
Michele Skalicky talked with three people instrumental in saving Timmons Temple: Lori Tack, Betty Ransom and Paula Ringer.