Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts and Entertainment

2006 Humanitarian of the Year Announced

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks announced the recipient of the 17th annual Humanitarian of the Year Award Thursday. KSMU's Christy Hendricks talked with the winner about the award.

Each year the Community Foundation of the Ozarks honors someone in the area who has devoted time and resources into serving the community.

CFO is a public foundation that supports organizational collaboration and grant making throughout southern Missouri.

Members of community organizations stood in ovation Thursday at the Oasis Convention Center as Todd Parnell, the Chairman of the CFO Board of Directors announced the 2006 Humanitarian of the Year.

Pat Walker has been a member of over 30 local, state and national boards of directors during her service in the Ozarks spanning over 45 years.

Members of the Junior League of Springfield say she was instrumental in establishing Founder's Park and Jordan Valley Park in Springfield.

Walker humbly accepted the award Thursday, explaining her start in community service.

Pat Walker says she never knew what she wanted to be when she grew up, but after learning she was the recipient of the Humanitarian Award; she realized her purpose.

Walker received a crystal award and a five-thousand dollar cash grant.

She says she will donate the money between two area organizations.

Gary Funk is the president of the Community Foundation of the Ozarks.

He says the winner is chosen from an independent committee headed by the Chair-elect of the Chamber of Commerce.

Pat Walker is the 17th recipient of the Humanitarian Award

She says she will continue serving the community and encourages others to do so as well.