Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
We’re in our Fall Fundraiser and you can help! Support KSMU programming today!
Arts and Entertainment

SMS Dedicates Arthur Mallory Plaza

SMS held a ceremony today to dedicate Arthur Mallory Plaza in honor of one of the university's past presidents. KSMU's Missy Shelton reports.

S-M-S officials gathered today to honor former S-M-S president Arthur Mallory.

Today's ceremony was the final in a series of dedication ceremonies honoring four of the university's past presidents.

Arthur Mallory became S-M-S president after Leland Traywick resigned at the request of the university's governing board. It was 1964 and Arthur Mallory was 31 years old. He served as president until 1971, when he left S-M-S to become the Commissioner of the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

A plaque that outlines the highlights of Arthur Mallory's tenure as SMS located president is located in the newly-named Arthur Mallory Plaza. The plaza is located next to Taylor Health Center and the S-M-S bookstore.

During the ceremony, Don Landon who wrote a book covering the 100-year history of S-M-S recounted comments that were made around campus when Mallory took over as President in 1964.

Also at today's ceremony, current SMS president John Keiser talked about Arthur Mallory's commitment to students.

At the end of the ceremony, Arthur Mallory briefly took the podium and expressed his gratitude.

Ceremonies honoring S-M-S presidents Leland Traywick, John Keiser and Marshall Gordon took place earlier this year.

Last September, the S-M-S Board of Governors voted to honor the four presidents who didn't have buildings named for them during the university's centennial celebration.