Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Drury Names its 17th President


Before a full room of Drury faculty, staff, alumni and others, Lynn Chipperfield, chair of the university’s board of trustees, announced the new president.  He says they were presented with three very highly qualified candidates…

"But at the end of the day the choice was clear, and the board has voted unanimously to invite Dr. David Manuel to be Drury's 17th president."

Dr. Manuel is currently chancellor and economics professor at Louisiana State University in Alexandria.  Before that he served as dean of the business school at St. Mary’s University in San Antonio.  He says he’s always been attracted to the liberal arts and professional studies, and Drury combines both…

"If you watch what American corporations are talking about, they're talking about preparing young people, not just with the skill set, but with the tools that help them address the future, and, frankly, that's what this kind of institution does, and that's what interests me so much about a place like Drury."

He says his job will be to move Drury forward.  According to Manuel, the university has already set a goal of increased national distinction…

"And that's an important vision but how we implement that is really the day to day sets of strategies and tactics, so, you know, my vision is going to be shaped by everyone in this room, everyone at this university, and I have to help take it forward."

Dr. Manuel says he looks forward to joining Drury and becoming a strong link in the university’s connections to its constituents, its communities and its future.

He takes over the presidency on June 1, 2013. 

Drury’s current president Todd Parnell will retire in May 2013 at the end of this academic year.